Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED)

LEED is redefining the way we think about construction, design, buildings and the environment along with how we live and work.  

The United States Green Building Council (USGBC) developed the LEED Rating Systems in 2000.  The LEED Rating Systems are developed based upon a consensus process led by LEED Committees where the Public can have input into the rating systems as well.  The Rating Systems are reviewed, analyzed and adjusted continuously to adapt to the current industry.
The different LEED Rating Systems are:
Each rating system is broken up into five different categories and two bonus categories:
  • Sustainable Sites
  • Water Efficiency
  • Energy & Atmosphere
  • Materials & Resources
  • Indoor Environmental Quality
Bonus Categories:
  • Innovation & Design
  • Regional Priority
The Green Building Certification Institute (GBCI) was established in 2008 to be a third-party certification body to provide oversight on project certification and professional accreditation.

GBCI develops and administers the professional accreditation examinations along with overseeing the Credential Maintenance Program (CMP).

For more information regarding CMP please see our CMP page.

Content is property of USGBC Central Plains Chapter. Contact webmaster@usgbccentralplains.org with questions.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software